Skip to Content

Scholarships and Award Recipients

2019-2020 Scholarship Recipients

Staff Council Miguel Hernandez Undergraduate Scholarship

Pictured: Missy Ellis

Missy Ellis | Director of Managed Services, ITAC, Division of Information Technology

Missy has been employed at Texas State since May 2010.  She’s worked within the technology industry for over 20 years and holds several trade certifications.  She is very excited to use previous course-work earned while pursuing a degree in Management towards completing a bachelor’s degree in IT Business as part of the O.W.L.S program within the College of Applied Arts.


Frances Padilla Estavillo and Theadocia Hodges Richey Staff Council Endowed Scholarship

Pictured: Peg Richmond

Peg Richmond | Business Advisor, Texas State University Small Business Development Center (SBDC)

After a career in high-tech business development and marketing, Peg joined the Texas State University Small Business Development Center and now advises innovation start-up and scaling business owners. 

Peg is currently working on her doctorate in Adult, Professional, and Community Education and holds an MBA from Indiana Wesleyan University and both a Master of Arts and Bachelor of Fine Arts from the University of Texas at Austin.


2019-2020 Award Winners


Angelika Lester Wahl Staff Diversity Enrichment Award

Margaret Garry | Grant Senior Coordinator, DHSI STEM IMPACT Program

Margaret believes that inclusion and equity are crucial components in helping our students develop as scholars, reach their professional goals, and grow as people. Prior to working with HSI STEM IMPACT, she served as an Academic Advisor I and Student Development Specialist in PACE Academic Advising. She has also worked as a Residence Director at St. Edward’s University, where she earned a master’s degree in College Student Development. 


Rodrigo Rodriguez Outstanding Custodian Award

Delfia Chavarria |Custodian, Custodian Operations

Delfia has had great privilege to work for the custodial department for the past 20 years its been a great experience working for the provost and president and Technology Resource and Core system. Hobbies include spending quality time with grandchildren and family.  Delfia says, "It has been a honor to be a part of their team."

Dr. Lawrence Estaville Employee Excellence Award

Allison Glass-Smith Coordinator – Department Recruiting, Graduate Staff Advisor

Allison joined the Department of Geography as a staff member in August of 2002.  Allison received her Bachelor of Science in Geography in 1997 and Master of Applied Geography in Geography in 1999.  In her role she assists graduate students with advising and their administrative tasks.  She is also the first point of contact for prospective graduate students and arranges and conducts orientation workshops for new graduate students and graduate assistants. 

Earl L. Moseley, Jr. Community Service Award

Sheila Torres-Blank | Music Librarian- University Libraries

I came to Texas State in 1994. Since then I have served as the Music Cataloging Librarian at Alkek Library. My primary responsibility is cataloging music, sound recordings,  audio-visual materials, and electronic resources. I am also engaged with database maintenance and special projects work. Outside of work my main volunteer gig is trail design and construction with the San Marcos Greenbelt Alliance. I have, at times, participated in other capacities with that organization but boots on the ground work is really my favorite. Have also served a couple terms on the city Parks Board. My passions are bikes and trails.

Deborah and James Mathews - Excellence in Collaboration/Outreach Award

Tamara Corbier | Parent and Family Relations Coordinator

Tamara collaborates with many different campus departments and community partners through her role planning and executing events and services for parents and families of current Texas State students.

In her role, she enjoys the event planning opportunities that allow her to get to know new Bobcat families and work with a variety of Texas State departments and community partners. Tamara holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Texas State University, where she is currently working towards her master's degree in business administration.